Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

Norwich, in numbers

Projects: Norwich

Norwich local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Anglia Square, Norwich

Anglia Square redevelopment

The former shopping area is being cleared for phased housing, public spaces and local facilities. Affordable homes form a major part of the first phases.

Demolition under way at the dated update · evidence dated 2026-06-22

Responsible body: Norwich City Council and development partners

What the source says: The council confirms demolition continuing and construction scheduled in the following months. First homes are expected by 2028, with later phases beyond that; neither milestone is recorded as achieved.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Anglia Square redevelopment: your questions answered →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make Anglia Square’s housing phases easy to follow →

Connect Anglia Square clearance to the first usable phase →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Carrow Works, Deal Ground, May Gurney and Utilities sites

East Norwich riverside neighbourhood

Underused industrial land could become homes, workspaces and riverside routes, connecting the city with the Broads.

Masterplan and allocations published; phased development ahead · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: East Norwich Delivery Board and landowners

What the source says: The council identifies four main sites and a partnership board formed in 2022. The proposed housing and jobs describe development capacity; this page does not verify that the full neighbourhood is being built.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

East Norwich →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep East Norwich infrastructure ahead of occupation →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Eligible homes across Norwich

Warm Homes grants and energy advice

Norwich has secured £4.7 million to improve 330 homes between 2025 and 2028. The programme offers eligible households help with insulation and other energy upgrades.

Grant funding secured; eligibility and property checks apply · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Norwich City Council

What the source says: The council’s energy-support page states the funding and 330-home programme aim. It distinguishes support for homeowners and private renters from the separate schemes for council tenants. It does not publish a completed-home total.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
£4.7 million secured for the 2025–2028 Warm Homes: Local Grant programme. This is an allocation, not verified spending or household savings.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named site or council-wide remit is not proof of benefits to every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Smart ways to save energy and cut costs →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn energy grants into warmer homes people can afford →

Make the secured home-energy funding accessible →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →