Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

Norfolk, in numbers

People and living standards

Norfolk County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Norfolk County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 754,319 in 1991 to 945,427 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 769,295 people in 1996; 945,427 people in 2025. 22.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991754,319
1992757,659
1993759,523
1994762,389
1995765,596
1996769,295
1997774,473
1998780,863
1999786,454
2000793,509
2001798,618
2002803,463
2003810,127
2004815,690
2005822,890
2006829,062
2007834,945
2008841,495
2009846,355
2010852,926
2011859,426
2012864,776
2013870,771
2014876,986
2015882,938
2016891,150
2017898,548
2018903,527
2019906,964
2020909,883
2021918,462
2022925,745
2023934,300
2024940,468
2025945,427
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 143,639 people in 1996; 149,037 people in 2025. 3.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991140,703
1992141,068
1993141,890
1994143,263
1995143,604
1996143,639
1997143,808
1998144,402
1999145,500
2000145,687
2001144,440
2002144,154
2003144,312
2004144,077
2005143,990
2006143,507
2007143,572
2008143,808
2009144,180
2010144,297
2011144,702
2012145,024
2013145,314
2014146,011
2015146,927
2016148,139
2017149,359
2018149,808
2019150,138
2020149,129
2021148,932
2022149,747
2023150,530
2024150,245
2025149,037
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 474,148 people in 1996; 556,690 people in 2025. 17.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991470,014
1992471,245
1993470,713
1994470,851
1995471,944
1996474,148
1997477,531
1998481,590
1999484,989
2000489,982
2001494,021
2002497,345
2003501,716
2004505,539
2005510,873
2006516,128
2007519,749
2008522,567
2009523,281
2010525,700
2011527,795
2012525,231
2013525,542
2014526,328
2015527,847
2016531,180
2017534,235
2018536,196
2019536,232
2020538,329
2021544,264
2022547,519
2023552,252
2024554,662
2025556,690
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 151,508 people in 1996; 239,700 people in 2025. 58.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991143,602
1992145,346
1993146,920
1994148,275
1995150,048
1996151,508
1997153,134
1998154,871
1999155,965
2000157,840
2001160,157
2002161,964
2003164,099
2004166,074
2005168,027
2006169,427
2007171,624
2008175,120
2009178,894
2010182,929
2011186,929
2012194,521
2013199,915
2014204,647
2015208,164
2016211,831
2017214,954
2018217,523
2019220,594
2020222,425
2021225,266
2022228,479
2023231,518
2024235,561
2025239,700
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 916,120 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Norfolk · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh18,9922.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8,3690.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups15,0801.6%
White867,15194.7%
Other ethnic group6,5280.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 857,888 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Norfolk · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White828,01896.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,0271.2%
Asian/Asian British13,0171.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,6090.5%
Other ethnic group2,2170.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 796,728 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Norfolk · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White784,68998.5%
Mixed4,7800.6%
Asian/Asian British2,8590.4%
Black/Black British1,5750.2%
Chinese/Other2,8250.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Norfolk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,756.31 per person in 1997; £23,562.28 per person in 2024. 141.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,756.31
19989,919.79
199910,195.13
200010,665.29
200111,258.2
200211,389.45
200311,690.76
200411,988.62
200512,389.26
200612,509.32
200713,187.69
200813,771.92
200914,159.54
201014,613.23
201114,916.93
201215,486.09
201315,830.8
201416,204.36
201517,068.02
201617,104.86
201717,670.73
201818,324.85
201919,016.19
202018,959.58
202119,721.01
202220,723.96
202322,126.66
202423,562.28
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Norfolk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -8.05% in 1997; -9.25% in 2024. 1.21 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-8.05
1998-8.38
1999-9.87
2000-10.4
2001-9
2002-9.98
2003-10.31
2004-11.67
2005-11.87
2006-14.58
2007-14.06
2008-12.55
2009-11.57
2010-9.52
2011-8.45
2012-8.31
2013-9.62
2014-10.39
2015-10.28
2016-11.18
2017-10.31
2018-10.22
2019-9.75
2020-9.67
2021-9.72
2022-9.75
2023-9.51
2024-9.25
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.9%

21 March 2021 · Norfolk County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.2%

21 March 2021 · Norfolk County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.4%

21 March 2021 · Norfolk County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Norfolk County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£269,000

July 2026 · Norfolk County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.