Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

North Norfolk, in numbers

People and living standards: North Norfolk

North Norfolk local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Norfolk local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 91,667 in 1991 to 103,708 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 94,971 people in 1996; 103,708 people in 2025. 9.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,667
199292,166
199392,819
199493,150
199594,200
199694,971
199796,028
199897,418
199997,705
200098,226
200198,495
200298,723
200399,121
200499,374
200599,638
200699,907
2007100,338
2008100,887
2009100,556
2010100,780
2011101,664
2012101,445
2013101,410
2014102,012
2015101,973
2016102,176
2017102,718
2018102,523
2019102,509
2020102,064
2021103,239
2022103,218
2023103,486
2024103,431
2025103,708
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,042 people in 1996; 13,032 people in 2025. 18.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,848
199215,864
199315,931
199415,993
199515,990
199616,042
199715,998
199816,131
199916,186
200016,180
200115,886
200215,730
200315,737
200415,579
200515,386
200615,215
200715,086
200815,004
200914,839
201014,715
201114,675
201214,386
201314,194
201414,281
201514,249
201614,242
201714,342
201814,229
201914,129
202013,810
202113,714
202213,708
202313,637
202413,414
202513,032
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,502 people in 1996; 53,719 people in 2025. 3.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199153,859
199254,103
199354,461
199454,448
199555,136
199655,502
199756,216
199857,062
199956,991
200057,283
200157,525
200257,599
200357,636
200457,750
200557,924
200658,186
200758,386
200858,333
200957,577
201057,327
201157,558
201256,573
201355,935
201455,769
201555,250
201654,961
201754,921
201854,485
201954,260
202053,912
202154,755
202254,529
202354,378
202453,805
202553,719
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,427 people in 1996; 36,957 people in 2025. 57.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,960
199222,199
199322,427
199422,709
199523,074
199623,427
199723,814
199824,225
199924,528
200024,763
200125,084
200225,394
200325,748
200426,045
200526,328
200626,506
200726,866
200827,550
200928,140
201028,738
201129,431
201230,486
201331,281
201431,962
201532,474
201632,973
201733,455
201833,809
201934,120
202034,342
202134,770
202234,981
202335,471
202436,212
202536,957
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 102,978 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Norfolk · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5650.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1830.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9780.9%
White101,00798.1%
Other ethnic group2450.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 101,499 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Norfolk · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White100,12798.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6170.6%
Asian/Asian British5310.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1570.2%
Other ethnic group670.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 98,382 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Norfolk · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White97,61099.2%
Mixed3770.4%
Asian/Asian British1290.1%
Black/Black British820.1%
Chinese/Other1840.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Norfolk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,417 per person in 1997; £26,142 per person in 2024. 177.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,417
19989,568
19999,858
200010,371
200111,075
200211,392
200311,757
200411,981
200512,437
200612,665
200713,276
200814,029
200914,691
201015,511
201115,761
201216,300
201317,016
201417,307
201518,217
201618,433
201719,146
201820,326
201921,356
202020,504
202120,931
202222,403
202324,326
202426,142
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Norfolk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.2% in 1997; 0.7% in 2024. 11.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.2
1998-11.6
1999-12.8
2000-12.9
2001-10.5
2002-10
2003-9.8
2004-11.7
2005-11.5
2006-13.5
2007-13.5
2008-10.9
2009-8.3
2010-4
2011-3.3
2012-3.5
2013-2.8
2014-4.3
2015-4.2
2016-4.3
2017-2.8
2018-0.4
20191.4
2020-2.3
2021-4.2
2022-2.4
2023-0.5
20240.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

46.7%

21 March 2021 · North Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.9%

21 March 2021 · North Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.6%

21 March 2021 · North Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · North Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£293,000

July 2026 · North Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£865

August 2026 · North Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.