Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

Breckland, in numbers

People and living standards: Breckland

Breckland local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Breckland local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 107,891 in 1991 to 148,095 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Breckland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 112,530 people in 1996; 148,095 people in 2025. 31.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Breckland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991107,891
1992109,509
1993110,289
1994111,533
1995111,149
1996112,530
1997114,707
1998115,956
1999118,526
2000120,400
2001121,585
2002122,222
2003123,247
2004123,944
2005125,493
2006126,551
2007127,797
2008128,938
2009129,431
2010129,932
2011131,009
2012131,701
2013132,905
2014134,204
2015135,667
2016137,190
2017138,592
2018139,146
2019139,523
2020140,408
2021142,160
2022143,566
2023145,188
2024146,784
2025148,095
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Breckland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,285 people in 1996; 23,760 people in 2025. 6.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Breckland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,442
199221,518
199321,775
199422,149
199522,163
199622,285
199722,431
199822,507
199923,307
200023,501
200123,441
200223,483
200323,371
200423,265
200523,317
200623,087
200723,046
200822,999
200922,992
201022,885
201122,973
201222,873
201322,937
201423,130
201523,241
201623,441
201723,677
201823,691
201923,722
202023,629
202123,663
202223,722
202323,759
202423,847
202523,760
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Breckland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,679 people in 1996; 86,081 people in 2025. 25.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Breckland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199166,330
199267,491
199367,735
199468,394
199567,698
199668,679
199770,333
199871,235
199972,657
200073,948
200174,774
200274,945
200375,615
200475,941
200576,990
200678,060
200778,870
200879,458
200979,357
201079,300
201179,564
201279,141
201379,309
201479,471
201580,144
201680,664
201781,217
201881,456
201981,229
202081,721
202182,983
202283,554
202384,471
202485,251
202586,081
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Breckland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,566 people in 1996; 38,254 people in 2025. 77.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Breckland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,119
199220,500
199320,779
199420,990
199521,288
199621,566
199721,943
199822,214
199922,562
200022,951
200123,370
200223,794
200324,261
200424,738
200525,186
200625,404
200725,881
200826,481
200927,082
201027,747
201128,472
201229,687
201330,659
201431,603
201532,282
201633,085
201733,698
201833,999
201934,572
202035,058
202135,514
202236,290
202336,958
202437,686
202538,254
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 141,477 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Breckland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,3400.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8200.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0511.4%
White136,45796.5%
Other ethnic group8090.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 130,491 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Breckland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White127,11697.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5621.2%
Asian/Asian British1,0400.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5960.5%
Other ethnic group1770.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 121,418 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Breckland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White119,64498.5%
Mixed8200.7%
Asian/Asian British2630.2%
Black/Black British4200.3%
Chinese/Other2710.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Breckland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,969 per person in 1997; £23,170 per person in 2024. 158.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Breckland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,969
19989,171
19999,329
20009,735
200110,269
200210,374
200310,671
200410,978
200511,349
200611,484
200712,045
200812,593
200913,051
201013,488
201113,802
201214,464
201314,714
201415,060
201515,798
201616,310
201717,059
201817,866
201918,432
202018,544
202119,166
202220,203
202321,765
202423,170
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Breckland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -15.5% in 1997; -10.8% in 2024. 4.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Breckland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-15.5
1998-15.3
1999-17.5
2000-18.2
2001-17
2002-18
2003-18.1
2004-19.1
2005-19.3
2006-21.6
2007-21.5
2008-20
2009-18.5
2010-16.5
2011-15.3
2012-14.4
2013-16
2014-16.7
2015-17
2016-15.3
2017-13.4
2018-12.5
2019-12.5
2020-11.7
2021-12.3
2022-12
2023-11
2024-10.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.7%

21 March 2021 · Breckland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.6%

21 March 2021 · Breckland local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.3%

21 March 2021 · Breckland local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Breckland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£269,000

July 2026 · Breckland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£928

August 2026 · Breckland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.