Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

Broadland, in numbers

People and living standards: Broadland

Broadland local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Broadland local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 106,618 in 1991 to 139,652 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Broadland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 111,966 people in 1996; 139,652 people in 2025. 24.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Broadland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991106,618
1992106,582
1993107,412
1994108,722
1995110,869
1996111,966
1997113,675
1998115,532
1999116,766
2000117,796
2001118,814
2002119,391
2003120,333
2004121,039
2005121,637
2006122,412
2007123,242
2008123,387
2009123,819
2010124,483
2011124,740
2012124,952
2013125,081
2014125,305
2015125,837
2016126,642
2017127,708
2018128,674
2019129,721
2020130,760
2021132,238
2022133,802
2023135,955
2024137,892
2025139,652
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Broadland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,683 people in 1996; 22,161 people in 2025. 7.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Broadland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,251
199219,461
199319,680
199420,055
199520,500
199620,683
199721,006
199821,293
199921,604
200021,617
200121,548
200221,506
200321,615
200421,661
200521,560
200621,428
200721,493
200821,201
200921,200
201021,140
201120,850
201220,737
201320,576
201420,369
201520,419
201620,590
201720,753
201820,925
201921,120
202021,179
202121,225
202221,658
202321,919
202422,071
202522,161
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Broadland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 70,560 people in 1996; 80,898 people in 2025. 14.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Broadland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199168,528
199267,988
199368,178
199468,714
199569,952
199670,560
199771,615
199872,752
199973,203
200073,770
200174,297
200274,624
200374,996
200475,188
200575,484
200676,054
200776,402
200876,237
200976,020
201075,978
201175,797
201274,802
201374,258
201473,844
201573,860
201673,993
201774,453
201874,667
201974,999
202075,745
202176,723
202277,302
202378,684
202479,765
202580,898
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Broadland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,723 people in 1996; 36,593 people in 2025. 76.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Broadland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,839
199219,133
199319,554
199419,953
199520,417
199620,723
199721,054
199821,487
199921,959
200022,409
200122,969
200223,261
200323,722
200424,190
200524,593
200624,930
200725,347
200825,949
200926,599
201027,365
201128,093
201229,413
201330,247
201431,092
201531,558
201632,059
201732,502
201833,082
201933,602
202033,836
202134,290
202234,842
202335,352
202436,056
202536,593
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 131,723 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broadland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,8311.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6840.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,8421.4%
White126,86996.3%
Other ethnic group4970.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 124,646 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broadland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White121,79597.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0640.9%
Asian/Asian British1,2651%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3310.3%
Other ethnic group1910.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 118,513 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broadland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,14398.8%
Mixed5360.5%
Asian/Asian British3520.3%
Black/Black British1220.1%
Chinese/Other3600.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Broadland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,827 per person in 1997; £25,735 per person in 2024. 117.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Broadland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,827
199811,835
199911,997
200012,596
200113,151
200213,285
200313,545
200413,886
200514,391
200614,480
200715,402
200816,034
200916,145
201016,786
201117,095
201217,666
201318,111
201418,721
201520,055
201619,649
201720,137
201820,574
201920,906
202020,646
202121,249
202222,614
202324,290
202425,735
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Broadland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 11.5% in 1997; -0.9% in 2024. 12.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Broadland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199711.5
19989.3
19996.1
20005.8
20016.3
20025
20033.9
20042.3
20052.4
2006-1.1
20070.4
20081.8
20090.8
20103.9
20114.9
20124.6
20133.4
20143.5
20155.4
20162
20172.2
20180.8
2019-0.8
2020-1.6
2021-2.7
2022-1.5
2023-0.7
2024-0.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.6%

21 March 2021 · Broadland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.4%

21 March 2021 · Broadland local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.6%

21 March 2021 · Broadland local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Broadland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£313,000

July 2026 · Broadland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£938

August 2026 · Broadland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.