Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

Great Yarmouth, in numbers

People and living standards: Great Yarmouth

Great Yarmouth local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Great Yarmouth local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 88,606 in 1991 to 100,957 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Great Yarmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 89,234 people in 1996; 100,957 people in 2025. 13.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Great Yarmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199188,606
199288,749
199388,653
199488,604
199588,807
199689,234
199789,040
199889,323
199990,008
200090,490
200190,945
200291,437
200392,526
200493,316
200594,113
200694,545
200795,211
200895,924
200996,414
201097,063
201197,424
201297,682
201398,076
201498,520
201599,031
201699,471
2017100,181
2018100,343
2019100,448
202099,851
2021100,179
202299,906
2023100,418
2024100,666
2025100,957
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Great Yarmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,638 people in 1996; 16,829 people in 2025. 4.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Great Yarmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,368
199217,432
199317,497
199417,549
199517,623
199617,638
199717,562
199817,552
199917,653
200017,668
200117,347
200217,357
200317,389
200417,439
200517,459
200617,354
200717,460
200817,460
200917,435
201017,470
201117,379
201217,207
201317,104
201417,161
201517,230
201617,313
201717,497
201817,504
201917,506
202017,124
202117,095
202216,951
202317,040
202416,982
202516,829
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Great Yarmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,273 people in 1996; 58,645 people in 2025. 8.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Great Yarmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199154,535
199254,487
199354,213
199453,959
199554,009
199654,273
199754,074
199854,314
199954,896
200055,167
200155,704
200256,031
200356,838
200457,468
200558,117
200658,464
200758,851
200859,182
200959,239
201059,459
201159,442
201259,019
201359,070
201459,016
201559,133
201659,100
201759,222
201859,136
201959,046
202058,752
202158,934
202258,561
202358,693
202458,673
202558,645
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Great Yarmouth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,323 people in 1996; 25,483 people in 2025. 47.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Great Yarmouth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,703
199216,830
199316,943
199417,096
199517,175
199617,323
199717,404
199817,457
199917,459
200017,655
200117,894
200218,049
200318,299
200418,409
200518,537
200618,727
200718,900
200819,282
200919,740
201020,134
201120,603
201221,456
201321,902
201422,343
201522,668
201623,058
201723,462
201823,703
201923,896
202023,975
202124,150
202224,394
202324,685
202425,011
202525,483
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 99,750 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Great Yarmouth · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,9361.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,1041.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,5751.6%
White94,36194.6%
Other ethnic group7740.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 97,277 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Great Yarmouth · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White94,21596.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1591.2%
Asian/Asian British1,2041.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4390.5%
Other ethnic group2600.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 90,810 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Great Yarmouth · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,56598.6%
Mixed5370.6%
Asian/Asian British3430.4%
Black/Black British1390.2%
Chinese/Other2260.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Great Yarmouth council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,661 per person in 1997; £20,544 per person in 2024. 137.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Great Yarmouth council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,661
19988,732
19998,971
20009,236
20019,721
20029,768
200310,061
200410,362
200510,600
200610,654
200711,198
200811,691
200912,262
201012,566
201112,924
201213,571
201313,781
201414,140
201514,938
201614,643
201715,019
201815,684
201916,171
202016,825
202117,955
202218,522
202319,386
202420,544
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Great Yarmouth council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.4% in 1997; -20.9% in 2024. 2.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Great Yarmouth council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.4
1998-19.4
1999-20.7
2000-22.4
2001-21.4
2002-22.8
2003-22.8
2004-23.7
2005-24.6
2006-27.3
2007-27
2008-25.8
2009-23.4
2010-22.2
2011-20.7
2012-19.6
2013-21.3
2014-21.8
2015-21.5
2016-24
2017-23.8
2018-23.2
2019-23.3
2020-19.8
2021-17.8
2022-19.3
2023-20.7
2024-20.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

49.7%

21 March 2021 · Great Yarmouth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

25.1%

21 March 2021 · Great Yarmouth local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

26.5%

21 March 2021 · Great Yarmouth local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.2%

21 March 2021 · Great Yarmouth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£209,000

July 2026 · Great Yarmouth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£841

August 2026 · Great Yarmouth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.