Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

King's Lynn and West Norfolk, in numbers

People and living standards: King's Lynn and West Norfolk

King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 131,103 in 1991 to 156,943 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 131,614 people in 1996; 156,943 people in 2025. 19.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991131,103
1992131,630
1993131,639
1994131,204
1995131,498
1996131,614
1997132,139
1998133,834
1999133,698
2000134,957
2001135,565
2002136,831
2003138,272
2004139,621
2005140,959
2006142,790
2007144,274
2008145,551
2009146,428
2010147,134
2011147,936
2012148,938
2013149,722
2014150,742
2015151,863
2016152,867
2017153,666
2018153,451
2019153,332
2020153,023
2021154,920
2022155,678
2023156,240
2024156,192
2025156,943
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,466 people in 1996; 25,182 people in 2025. 2.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,459
199224,294
199324,344
199424,513
199524,523
199624,466
199724,454
199824,831
199924,825
200024,826
200124,484
200224,754
200325,071
200425,141
200525,149
200625,083
200725,079
200825,194
200925,129
201024,952
201124,785
201224,854
201324,977
201425,032
201525,432
201625,571
201725,687
201825,697
201925,689
202025,449
202125,387
202225,578
202325,625
202425,339
202525,182
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 79,713 people in 1996; 89,417 people in 2025. 12.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199181,030
199281,275
199380,885
199480,027
199579,943
199679,713
199779,861
199880,773
199980,686
200081,615
200182,133
200282,702
200383,483
200484,271
200585,121
200686,711
200787,755
200888,309
200988,532
201088,730
201189,036
201288,644
201388,438
201488,607
201588,603
201689,010
201789,291
201888,810
201988,220
202088,043
202189,310
202289,394
202389,451
202489,202
202589,417
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 27,435 people in 1996; 42,344 people in 2025. 54.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,614
199226,061
199326,410
199426,664
199527,032
199627,435
199727,824
199828,230
199928,187
200028,516
200128,948
200229,375
200329,718
200430,209
200530,689
200630,996
200731,440
200832,048
200932,767
201033,452
201134,115
201235,440
201336,307
201437,103
201537,828
201638,286
201738,688
201838,944
201939,423
202039,531
202140,223
202240,706
202341,164
202441,651
202542,344
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 154,326 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · King's Lynn and West Norfolk · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,8861.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8430.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0221.3%
White147,56395.6%
Other ethnic group1,0120.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 147,451 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · King's Lynn and West Norfolk · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White143,40997.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,3720.9%
Asian/Asian British1,8631.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5610.4%
Other ethnic group2460.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 135,345 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · King's Lynn and West Norfolk · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White133,53098.7%
Mixed6910.5%
Asian/Asian British4580.3%
Black/Black British2700.2%
Chinese/Other3960.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,193 per person in 1997; £23,249 per person in 2024. 152.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,193
19989,384
19999,761
200010,212
200110,857
200210,941
200311,218
200411,493
200511,908
200611,993
200712,630
200813,284
200913,747
201014,202
201114,578
201215,096
201315,588
201415,862
201516,407
201616,512
201717,162
201817,963
201918,708
202018,836
202119,616
202220,609
202321,787
202423,249
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.4% in 1997; -10.5% in 2024. 2.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — King's Lynn and West Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.4
1998-13.3
1999-13.7
2000-14.2
2001-12.2
2002-13.5
2003-13.9
2004-15.3
2005-15.3
2006-18.1
2007-17.7
2008-15.6
2009-14.1
2010-12.1
2011-10.5
2012-10.6
2013-11
2014-12.3
2015-13.8
2016-14.3
2017-12.9
2018-12
2019-11.2
2020-10.3
2021-10.2
2022-10.3
2023-10.9
2024-10.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.7%

21 March 2021 · King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.3%

21 March 2021 · King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.4%

21 March 2021 · King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£266,000

July 2026 · King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£941

August 2026 · King's Lynn and West Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.