Skip to content
Norfolk Counts — Norfolk, in numbers.Local help →

South Norfolk, in numbers

People and living standards: South Norfolk

South Norfolk local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Norfolk local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 103,422 in 1991 to 150,396 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 105,142 people in 1996; 150,396 people in 2025. 43% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991103,422
1992103,626
1993103,067
1994103,837
1995104,758
1996105,142
1997106,000
1998107,086
1999108,552
2000110,036
2001110,848
2002112,483
2003113,665
2004114,539
2005115,420
2006116,052
2007117,134
2008118,774
2009120,488
2010122,611
2011124,495
2012125,680
2013127,063
2014128,572
2015129,942
2016131,472
2017133,573
2018135,560
2019138,131
2020139,842
2021142,509
2022144,529
2023146,614
2024148,384
2025150,396
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,206 people in 1996; 25,863 people in 2025. 34.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,394
199219,240
199319,128
199419,278
199519,340
199619,206
199719,276
199819,425
199920,167
200020,499
200120,664
200220,898
200321,026
200421,060
200521,010
200620,946
200720,944
200821,190
200921,514
201021,920
201122,324
201222,577
201322,704
201422,906
201522,966
201623,097
201723,355
201823,816
201924,307
202024,440
202124,760
202225,214
202325,650
202425,793
202525,863
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 66,158 people in 1996; 86,876 people in 2025. 31.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,213
199265,387
199364,749
199465,164
199565,787
199666,158
199766,634
199867,281
199967,733
200068,487
200168,739
200269,634
200370,283
200470,780
200571,322
200671,695
200772,302
200873,007
200973,663
201074,577
201175,336
201274,853
201374,936
201475,386
201576,048
201676,708
201777,977
201878,821
201980,236
202081,291
202183,031
202283,835
202384,910
202485,715
202586,876
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Norfolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,778 people in 1996; 37,657 people in 2025. 90.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,815
199218,999
199319,190
199419,395
199519,631
199619,778
199720,090
199820,380
199920,652
200021,050
200121,445
200221,951
200322,356
200422,699
200523,088
200623,411
200723,888
200824,577
200925,311
201026,114
201126,835
201228,250
201329,423
201430,280
201530,928
201631,667
201732,241
201832,923
201933,588
202034,111
202134,718
202235,480
202336,054
202436,876
202537,657
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 141,948 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Norfolk · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,5621.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,1640.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0941.5%
White135,47495.4%
Other ethnic group6540.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 124,012 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Norfolk · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White120,98197.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2141%
Asian/Asian British1,2701%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3780.3%
Other ethnic group1690.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 110,710 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Norfolk · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White109,49698.9%
Mixed4980.4%
Asian/Asian British2760.2%
Black/Black British1090.1%
Chinese/Other3310.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Norfolk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,234 per person in 1997; £25,437 per person in 2024. 126.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,234
199811,437
199911,692
200012,277
200112,917
200212,942
200313,197
200413,546
200514,088
200614,333
200715,101
200815,614
200915,692
201015,989
201116,204
201216,791
201317,106
201417,504
201518,552
201619,070
201719,693
201820,308
201920,958
202020,759
202121,713
202222,604
202324,019
202425,437
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Norfolk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.9% in 1997; -2% in 2024. 7.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Norfolk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.9
19985.6
19993.4
20003.1
20014.4
20022.3
20031.2
2004-0.2
20050.2
2006-2.1
2007-1.6
2008-0.9
2009-2
2010-1
2011-0.6
2012-0.6
2013-2.3
2014-3.2
2015-2.5
2016-1
20170
2018-0.5
2019-0.5
2020-1.1
2021-0.6
2022-1.6
2023-1.8
2024-2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.8%

21 March 2021 · South Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.7%

21 March 2021 · South Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.1%

21 March 2021 · South Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.3%

21 March 2021 · South Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£312,000

July 2026 · South Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£981

August 2026 · South Norfolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.